Free Trade Agreements

Mauritania has trade and investment agreements and protection with member countries of the Arab Maghreb Union (Algeria, Libya, Morocco and Tunisia) as well as with Saudi Arabia, France, Belgium, and Romania. In addition, Mauritania is a signatory to the Cotonou Agreement between the European Union (EU) and the group of African, Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) countries, and thus enjoys free access to the EU market. As a least-developed country, Mauritania benefits from duty-free access to the European market under the Everything-But-Arms initiative. Since 1987, the Government has signed four fisheries agreements with the European Union, the most recent covering the period August 2006 - July 2012.

Mauritania and the WTO