Free Trade Agreements

Regional Trade Agreements
Customs Union: Kuwait as a member of the Gulf Cooperation Council allows duty free entry of goods meeting the rule of origin criteria of the GCC. To receive preferential duty status, at least forty percent of the value added in each product in effected in a GCC member country and the capital of the producing firm is at least 51 percent owned by citizens of a GCC state.

Bilateral Investment Treaties
Kuwait has signed investment agreements with Germany, France, Italy, Russia, China, Romania, Poland, Hungary, Turkey, Malaysia, Pakistan, Switzerland, Malta, Finland, Ethiopia, Croatia, Tajikistan, Austria, Bulgaria, Kazakhstan, Morocco, Mongolia and the Czech Republic. In the past few years, Kuwait has signed a bilateral investment agreement with Pakistan and a free trade agreement (FTA) with Jordan. Kuwait has initialed agreements on bilateral investment with Denmark, Belgium, the Netherlands, Thailand, Ukraine, Latvia, Lithuania, Lebanon, Bosnia/Herzegovina, and India. Kuwait began talks with Singapore on a Free Trade Agreement in December 2004.

Kuwait has been a WTO member since 1 January 1995.

Kuwait and the WTO